Reflections on creativity and learning

Learning and Creativity

Sir Robinson’s video on creativity and learning is quite thought provoking.  In it he makes a statement that is particularly relevant to the idea of educational design.  He says, “Creativity is as important as literacy.”  He goes on to explain how this will become of great importance as we rethink education in the future for our children.  In reflecting on my own educational experiences, I agree with his description of the current educational hierarchy, with the arts at the bottom and math and sciences at the top.  With a personal preference toward creativity, I often found myself struggling with the emphasis on academic performance.  Even though I did not always apply myself as I should, this helps explain my ambiguity regarding some of my past educational experiences.  This is especially relevant as I contemplate what educational design should look like for our children in the future.  I am challenged to think how I might equally cultivate my child’s talents in math and sciences, as well as in the arts.  Admittedly, my son demonstrates strengths in the areas of math and science but he also demonstrates a true love for art and music. Listening to this video, really challenges me to contemplate what I can do to avoid squandering the talents of my son, as well as what I can do to contribute to the educational design of young adults in the future to stimulate imagination and creativity in their learning experiences.

This entry was posted in ADLT 640. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reflections on creativity and learning

  1. bwatwood says:

    One of the things that excites me about distributed network learning is the ability to connect interests across multiple areas. A school administrator in a Pennsylvania private school with whom I blog has started STEAM in his school, which puts equal emphasis on Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics…and looks to use the web to build interdisciplinary opportunities for his students.

  2. Pingback: Challenges in Education Provoke Need for New Ideas and Different Decisions. True for Business too. | Creativityland

  3. Katherine says:

    Great video, I think Sir Robinson really hits the nail on the head in so many ways! Plus, I think creativity is used more in the adult world than people really realize, it just goes by the name ‘thinking outside the box’ – those peoole who fostered their creativity as children are better able to think of creative solutions 🙂

Leave a Reply

