Twitterville

Interesting place, Twitterville.  Not the kind of weekend jaunt I usually go for but nevertheless I was up for this.  Have to admit – it was fun.  I can see why people want to hang out here.  Lots to see and do.  If you like variety, this is the place to be.  You can lose yourself for hours with exploring just about anything in which you might find yourself interested.  Alternatively,  if you just want to hang out with your friends and family you’ll likely to find Twitterville equally as satisfying.   If you’re into networking, this is “THE” place to be.  (http://joliekennedy.com/2012/09/19/twitter/)

I will share a word of caution, however. If Twitterville happens not to be a place with which you are familiar you might want to be prepared to encounter some new concepts such as Twellow, Twitter Grader, Storyful, Atlas, and Back Chatter (http://t.co/BwBZTk8k) while delving into the culture. Oh, and did I mention that native Twittervillians speak a language all their own so if you’re contemplating spending any amount of time in Twitterville, you’re going to want to learn this language.

Yes sir, Twitterville has something for just about everyone.  Best of all – believe it or not, it’s free!  Now how many places can you go nowadays and have a true adventure without spending a dime! You just can’t do better than that.  So, the next time you’re looking for adventure in a nearby place, with limitless accommodations affordable to all, you just might want to consider Twitterville.  Chances are, I might meet up with you there!

http://youtu.be/fmB15ER3LUQ

This entry was posted in ADLT 641. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Twitterville

  1. jshill2 says:

    Hey Wally! Just curious– are you on Facebook, as well? And if so, what do you think of it? Also, what are some instances of the native “language” that you’ve encountered on Twitter? I am totally new to “Twitterville” myself. 🙂

    • Unfortunately, can’t do FB – story for another time. The “native language” I was referring to are all the initials used to represent whole sentences – as I explored Twitter, I found quite a few with which I was unfamiliar. I imagine a great deal are used in texting but since I don’t text, they remain foreign to me. It’s a bit like learning a new language!

      • Jess says:

        Ah, gotcha. Yeah, I think the use of abbreviations (such as IMHO- “in my humble opinion”) probably did start with texting as a means of conserving space. And Twitter is very similar to that. Have you explored using the privacy settings on Facebook to control who can see your profile? I really enjoy FB, but it’s certainly not for everyone. 🙂

  2. That blog about the mistakes made was interesting. I’m still trying to get out of my comfort zone of wanting random people to follow me! That part just seems out of sorts. I’m still used to Facebook I guess where your friends are well..your friends. I always tried to keep my friends list there to people that I would actually want know what was going on…

    And also this guy tweets every 30 minutes to an hour? And someone posts 52 times in an hour??????? Crazy.

  3. Jeff Nugent says:

    Wally…I’d be interested in hearing more about your idea that “twittervillians” speak a language all their own. What are some examples? Does twitter have its own discourse practices? If so, do we teach them?

    • Glad you asked. IMHO (“in my honest opinion”) Twitter has a “culture” with its own lingo and the more familiar you are with it, the easier you can navigate around in Twitterville. Just understanding the basics such as RT (retweet), DM (direct message), “Trending Topics” and @ for your “handle” or Twitter name is helpful. All of which, I believe, we went over in class. Add to these the many acronyms which may appear on Twitter and you practically have a whole new language! Check out this blog – http://www.sitesketch101.com/twitter-lingo/.

    • lsniestrath says:

      I looked at the site that Wally suggested. Some of the lingo looks like “IM” lingo. Jeff, be glad you work with graduate students who don’t put “IDK” as an answer for a test question! LOL

  4. lsniestrath says:

    We can show you how to use the privacy tools on FB so that you can protect your privacy!
    Great links here-I appreciate the time that you took to locate them for us.

Leave a Reply

